Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee which has been set up to prepare the text of the Protocol is a group of seventeen recognised experts, intellectuals and researchers with experience in a variety of disciplines who work in different fields. One of this commission’s main purposes will be to make sure that a fair balance of viewpoints is represented in the Protocol. The main job of the Scientific Committe is to make quality contributions to the Protocol. A document of this nature needs to be scientifically sound, so we require support and assessment from recognised experts.



Alexandra Büchler: Director of Literature Across Frontiers and excutive board member of the UK Translators’ Association. Culture and literature.

Dr Robert Dunbar: Professor, University of Edinburgh. Masters in Law. Scottish Gaelic language specialist. Chair of Celtic Languages, Literature, History and Antiquities. Vital niches and legal dimensions.

Ewa Chylinski: Tbilisi, Georgia. Territorial director for the Caucasus of the ECMI (European Centre for Minority Issues). Programme developer in the OSCE (Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe). Eastern Europe, grassroots entities.

Dr María Pilar García Negro. Professor, University of A Coruña. Member of the Scientific Committee of the Universal Declaration of Linguistic Rights and one of the authors of the Declaration. Historical perspective.

Johan Häggman: Former adviser to the European Bureau for Lesser Used Languages and adviser to the European Parliament and the European Commission. European institutions.

Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones: Professor of Media and Creative Industries at Aberystwyth University, Wales. Director of the Mercator Institute for Media, Language and Culture. Media and new technologies.

Dr Davyth Hicks: General secretary of ELEN (the European Language Equality Network) and director of Eurolang. European institutions and grassroots entities.

Dr Iñaki Martínez de Luna: Doctorate in sociology. Lecturer at the University of the Basque Country until 1989. Head of the Basque Government’s sociolinguistic research bureau from 1986 to the present.

Dr Conchúr Ó Giollagáin: Gaelic research professor at the University of the Highlands and Islands. Director of SOILLSE (the National Research Network for the Maintenance and Revitalisation of Gaelic Language and Culture). Legal dimension, human rights, vital niches.

Miquel Strubell: Former director of the UOC-Linguamón Language Diversity chair. Occasional adviser to the Council of Europe. Lecturer in sociolinguics and language planning. Education, language policy.

Dr Ferran Suay: Doctorate in psychology. Professor of psychobiology at the Universitat de València. Member of ACPV (Acció Cultural del País Valencià). Assertiveness, citizen empowerment, psychological dimension.

Dr Iñigo Urrutia: Lecturer in administrative law at the University of the Basque Country. Thesis on language rights and school systems. Law, education, media, socioeconomics, comparative law.

Dr Fernand de Varennes: World expert on minority human rights. Writer on ethnic conflicts, migrants and other topics. Author of reports for the UN and UNESCO. Internationally recognised authority on human rights and language rights.

Dr Jaume Vernet: Professor of constitutional law at Rovira i Virgili University in Tarragona, and member of the Consell de Garanties Estatutàries de Catalunya. A major legal expert in Catalonia.

Durk Gorter Doctor in Humanities 1993 from the University of Amsterdam. 30 years+ of research experience. Research line: Multilingualism in Educational Contexts; Comparative studies of European minority languages; Linguistic Landscapes in educationComes from the posts of Professor of Sociolinguistics of Frisian at the University of Amsterdam and Head of the Social Sciences Department of the Fryske Akademy, Ljouwert/Leeuwarden, The Netherlands.